Norway Removes Quarantine Requirement for a List of EU, EEA, Schengen Countries

15 July 2020

Great news for those who have been waiting to travel to Norway! Starting today, July 15, citizens of EU / EEA and Schengen countries may travel to Norway without quarantine, which was put in place by the Government of Norway in response to the spread of corona virus. To learn about travel to Norway visit:

Last week, the Government of Norway announced a list of country residents that will qualify for exemption from quarantine upon entry into Norway from 15th July. The Norwegian Government has adjusted the criteria for entry restrictions for the Nordic countries and removed the requirements for entry quarantine for the EU/ EEA/ Schengen countries that meet a common set of criteria. The criteria used as a basis for assessing all countries in the Schengen and EEA are:

  • fewer than 20 confirmed cases per 100,000 inhabitants during the last two weeks (14-day incidence), and
  • fewer than 5 per cent positive tests on average per week, during the last two weeks. 
Map of countries marked in green have been included by the Norwegian Government in the quarantine-free travel zone


The Government reports that the situation in the countries included in the Government's resolution will be assessed on an ongoing basis, at least every 14 days. For full report visit Norwegian Institute of Public Health.

< Back to news